Working Together to be the Voice and Image of Canadian Karate.


Why  become a Recognized Karate Association?

Click here to Learn more…

Karate Canada Recognized Karate Association

Official recognition of your Karate Association by Karate Canada allows you to request Karate Canada Dan Certificates equivalent to your association certificates up to 5th Dan. Individuals seeking 6th Dan and abaove are required to take a Karate Canada examination.  A certificate fee is charged for this service.

Karate Canada Dan Certificate holders are also eligible for WKF certificates up to 5th Dan, Please see the relevant link.


 Why become a Recognized Karate Association?

   National Recognition carries a number of advantages such as:

    Karate Canada Dan Certificates are recognized nationally as being issued from the recognized Sport Governing Body for Karate in Canada.
  Karate Canada Dan Certificates are recognized by member Provincial or Territorial Karate Association across the country.  National certificates are advantageous when moving to another country since Karate Canada is a member of the WKF and our certificates are recognized.
    Karate Canada Association recognition is independent of style, group, or other affiliation, national or international, and cannot be revoked except by Karate Canada and then only due to a serious breech of the Karate Canada Code of Conduct and Ethics
    Access by your members to Karate Canada 1st to 5th Dan Certificates without having to take the National Dan test. Certificates issued are less expensive than testing.
    Access to WKF certificates with the equivalent Karate Canada Certificate up to 5th Dan; above 5th Dan by special request.
    Recognized Karate Associations will be listed on our web site.

To apply for Karate Association recognition:
You need to have earned a minimum level of
5th Dan from Karate Canada. 
You need to fill out the Application form,
and send it to Karate Canada with the application fee.



Karate Canada Dan Examinations

  1. Application Form. (PDF) updated 2016-08-16
  2. Guidelines.
    1. Shotokan (PDF)
    2. Wado-Ryu (PDF)
    3. Goju-Ryu (PDF)
    4. Shito-Ryu (PDF)
    5. Chito-Ryu (PDF)
    6. Other Styles (PDF)
  3. New Dan Testing Fees - as of November 26, 2011 incl. (PDF)